A More Ultimate Balance (Sestina)

The ideal in life has always been balance

but what of this imbalance called jealousy?

-when your lover loves another?

Honesty is the dictate of integrity

and integrity is the dictate of love

so, is love scarce or is it abundant?

I’ve always believed that love is abundant

and that love, like justice, rights the balance

but why is it that we are so limited in love?

Why do we even feel jealousy?

-that loathesome challenge to our integrity

when faced with the attraction of another.

But what is love if it does not flow to another?

Is not this divine attribute abundant?

Admitting and accepting attraction is still within integrity

and I only hope to live within that noble balance.

Despite the horrid occasions of jealousy

I still wish to be true to truth and true to Love.

I want to be a flowing conduit, not a congested capacitor of love

and we feel restless with just one another.

I do not wish to deny, but to transcend jealousy.

I wish to exist in the infinite field of abundance.

When letting go of denial I find balance.

When balanced I live with integrity.

That is the terra firma of my existence: Integrity

-and the air I breath is love.

Between these elemental principles I find balance.

Love must always flow to another

and Love is infinite, ever abundant

and we become strained in the constraints of jealousy.

But who is heartless enough to deny jealousy?

To deny it’s truths is also to deny integrity.

How can we feel this thorny fear in the face of abundance?

Perhaps the cure is even more love…?

Why need I worry when my lover takes another

when we have already established our own balance?

 

In love we feel jealousy, yet we can still return to love,

adhering to a confident integrity I can accept another.

Having found this infinite field of abundance I have found a more ultimate balance.

One Response to “A More Ultimate Balance (Sestina)”

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking
    back regularly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

